Articles in Taxonomy

Passively safe support structures for road equipment

A little less than 40 % of all road fatalities result from collisions with roadside obstacles. Collisions with such isolated obstacles are about twice as lethal as on average and cause 1.6 times more serious injuries as on average. Natural obstacles (such as trees) are by far the largest group. Additionally, considerable numbers of lives are lost in collisions with lighting columns and other road equipment.

Collisions with lighting columns and other robust support structures account for slightly less than 10 % of the total number of road deaths. Yet for lighting columns and for sign or signal poles there are alternatives that are not inferior in functionality to conventional rigid structures. This makes a major difference for the occupants of a passenger car running into such a support structure.

The consequences of a collision with passively safe support structures can be evaluated by a method described in standard NBN EN 12767 Passive safety of support structures for road equipment – Requirements, classification and test methods. Using the results of (most often two) impact tests, a structure can be ranked into performance classes for:

  • energy absorption level;
  • impact speed;
  • vehicle occupant safety level.

Manufacturers of lighting columns and other support structures for road equipment have invested in the development of passively safe products since the year 2000. In 2010, passively safe lighting columns became the standard choice – with a few exceptions – of the Flemish public authorities for newly installed lighting along regional roads (official order MOW/AWV/2010/6). Since then, accidents with passively safe structures have demonstrated several times that the system really works.

Not all locations are suitable for the installation of a passively safe support. Relevant recommendations can be found in a circular of the Flemish agency for roads and traffic (AWV), or can be obtained from BRRC.

Contact:

Articles in Taxonomy

Constructions de haut niveau de sécurité passive pour les équipements routiers

Un peu moins de 40 % du nombre de victimes de la route sont à imputer à des accidents impliquant des obstacles situés en bordure de route. Des accidents avec de tels obstacles isolés sont environ deux fois plus mortels que la moyenne et engendrent 1,6 fois plus de blessés graves en moyenne. Les obstacles naturels (arbres) représentent de loin la part la plus importante. En outre, de nombreux morts sont à déplorer en raison de collisions avec des poteaux d’éclairage et autres équipements routiers.

Les collisions avec des poteaux d’éclairage et autres éléments de l’équipement routier sont responsables d’un peu moins de 10 % des décès sur nos routes. Il existe pourtant des alternatives qui d’un point de vue fonctionnel, n’ont rien à envier aux constructions classiques. Pour les occupants d’une voiture personnelle, les conséquences d’une collision avec une variante de haut niveau de sécurité sont généralement beaucoup moins lourdes.

Les conséquences d’une collision avec l’équipement routier peuvent être évaluées à l’aide de la méthode d’essai tirée de la NBN EN 12767 Sécurité passive des structures supports d'équipements de la route: exigences, classification et méthodes d'essai. A partir des résultats d’essais de collision (en général deux), les structures sont réparties selon les critères suivants:

  • le niveau d’absorption d’énergie;
  • la catégorie de vitesse;
  • la sécurité pour les occupants du véhicule impliqué dans la collision.

Depuis 2000, les producteurs d’équipements routiers investissent dans le développement de produits de haut niveau de sécurité. Depuis 2010, les poteaux d’éclairage de haut niveau de sécurité sont d’ailleurs, à quelques exceptions près, le choix par défaut des autorités flamandes pour le nouvel éclairage des routes régionales (instruction MOW/AWV/2010/6). Depuis lors, les collisions avec des structures de ce type ont à plusieurs reprises prouvé l’efficacité du système.

Bien sûr, tous les endroits ne se prêtent pas de la même manière à l’installation d’un poteau de haut niveau de sécurité. La circulaire de l’AWV ou le CRR vous fourniront un complément d’informations.

Contact: